Eighteen hydropower sector leaders from around the world have been elected to the board of the International Hydropower Association (IHA), it was announced today.

The new board will begin its two-year mandate in September 2019 and will guide IHA’s work and priorities for the period.

The results of the IHA Board elections were announced on 12 July after voting closed at midnight on 10 July. Candidates competed in each of the world’s six regions, and those elected are listed below.

 “These distinguished individuals bring a tremendous wealth of experience from across the sector and offer diverse perspectives on hydropower activities worldwide. I would like to congratulate our board members, especially those elected for the first time,” said IHA Chief Executive Richard Taylor. “Through the board, our members and our partners, IHA is committed to advance sustainable hydropower. Our programmes build and share knowledge on hydropower’s role in renewable energy systems, responsible freshwater management and climate change solutions.”

According to IHA's statutes, a maximum of six candidates may be elected from any one region, and no more than three candidates from the same country.

Once the board is constituted in September 2019, it will select the President of IHA and up to six Vice Presidents from among its members.

The 2019 Board election results are:

North and Central America

Ms Christine Cantin – Senior Advisor, Relations Outside Québec, Hydro-Québec

Mr Colin Clark – Chief Technical Officer, Brookfield Renewable

Mr Herbie Johnson – General Manager, Hydro Southern Company

South America

Mr Gil Maranhao Neto – Chief Strategy, Communications and CSR Officer, Engie Brasil

Mr José Maria Sanchez Tilleria – Technical Director, Itaipu Binacional


Mr Tron Engebrethsen – Senior Vice President, International Hydro, Statkraft AS

Mr Thibault Desclee De Maredsous – Chief Marketing Officer, GE Renewable Energy

Mr Frédéric Hofmann – Vice-President in charge of Development, EDF Hydro, EDF

Dr Óli Grétar Blöndal  Sveinsson  – Executive Vice President Research and Development, Landsvirkjun

Mr Uwe  Wehnhardt – President and CEO of Voith Hydro, Voith Hydro Holding GmbH & Co. KG


Mr Anton-Louis Olivier – CEO, Renewable Energy Holdings (Pty) Ltd

Mr Moisés Machava – Executive Director, Hidroelétrica De Cahora Bassa

South and Central Asia

Mr Evgeniy Tikhonov – Strategy and Development Director, EuroSibEnergo JSC

East and Pacific Asia

Mr Roger Gill – Non-Executive Director, Pacific Hydro

Mr Sharbini Suhaili – Group Chief Executive Officer, Sarawak Energy Berhad

Ms Tammy Chu – Managing Director, Entura, Hydro Tasmania

Dr Wu Shiyong – Deputy General Manager, Yalong River Hydropower Development Company Ltd

Mr Zhang Dingming – Executive Vice President, China Three Gorges Corporation

Find out more about IHA's work programmes in the IHA Activity and Strategy Report.