The UK government has announced four new appointments to the Export Credits Guarantee Department (ecgd) to help the government meet wider international objectives. The new members are: John Armitt CBE, chief executive, Costain Group and director of the Major Projects Association; Kate Phylaktis, professor of international finance and head of the Department of Banking and Finance, City University Business School; Tony Shepherd, chairman and chief executive, Alderley Holdings and director of Bristol Chamber of Commerce; and Dr Raj Thamotheram, senior advisor, Socially Responsible Investment, Universities Superannuation Scheme.