The International Hydropower Association (IHA) has announced that 18 leaders from across the hydropower sector have been elected to its Board, with the new Board set to begin its two-year mandate on 21 October 2021 to help shape and guide IHA’s work at a crucial time in the clean energy transition.

Candidates competed in six geographical regions, electing a diverse range of hydropower experts with a wealth of experience.

“I would like to congratulate all of our Board members, especially those newly elected. Their experience and knowledge spanning a wide breadth of the hydropower sector will help establish sustainable hydropower as not just a powerhouse of today, but a technology of the future,” commented IHA Chief Executive Eddie Rich. “We have a big job ahead of us. Sustainable hydropower is vital in reaching net zero commitments around the world. This new Board will help shape and drive forward the role of hydropower in the fight against climate change.”

Once the Board is constituted in October 2021, it will select the President of IHA and up to six Vice Presidents.

The members elected to IHA’s Board are:

Engr. Lamu Audu
Anton-Louis Olivier

America, South
Roger Gill
Gil Maranhão Neto

America, North and Central
Colin Clark
Herbie Johnson
Lynn St-Laurent

Asia, East and Pacific
Karen Atkinson
Tammy Chu
Mrs Li Li
He Shengming
Sharbini Suhaili

Asia, South and Central
Anton Butmanov
Arun Kumar

Jon Ulrik Haaheim
Pascal Radue
Óli Grétar Blöndal Sveinsson
Uwe Wehnhardt