Hydroelectric facilities awarded contracts include Browns Falls, Higley, East Norfolk, Raymondville, Norwood, Norfolk, Colton, and Allens Falls, all in St. Lawrence County. Also included are the Eagle hydro plant in Lewis County and the Oswego Falls plant in Oswego County.

New wind facilities awarded contracts are the Noble Bliss Wind Park planned for Wyoming County, Noble Chateaugay Wind Park planned for Franklin County, and Jordanville Wind Farm planned for Herkimer County. Additional sites include Dutch Hill Wind Farm, Cochocton Wind Farm, and the Wind Farm Prattsburgh planned for Steuben County, along with Noble Altona Wind Park, Noble Clinton Wind Park I, and the Noble Ellenburg Wind Park planned for Clinton County.

Biomass facilities awarded contracts include the Niagara Generating Facility in Niagara County and the Lyonsdale Biomass facility in Lewis County.

The facilities selected represent 880MW of in-state renewable energy with project developers set to invest an estimated US$1.4B to construct and upgrade the plant. Construction and upgrades of existing hydro and biomass facilities are expected to be completed by the autumn of 2008.

The twenty-one contract awards total approximately US$295M and will be paid out over a 10-year period with performance incentives averaging approximately US$15/MWh.

Peter R. Smith, president and chief executive of NYSERDA, said the move ‘is a major step towards achieving the ultimate goal of the RPS, in which 25% of electric generation will come from a renewable source by 2013.’