The rights were secured from the Integrated Land Management Bureau (Ministry of Agriculture and Lands) and the Water Stewardship Division (Ministry of the Environment). The three projects have a combined capacity of 121MW and are to be located on Smythe creek, Stanton creek and Fissure creek, near the headwaters of Knight Inlet, approximately 200km north of Powell river, BC. They are expected to generate approximately 383GWh/yr, enough to meet the needs of approximately 40,000 homes.

Initial studies show that all three creeks have steep sided rock canyons upstream of the proposed power house locations, which act as fish barriers – thus minimising the impact of the projects on local fish habitat.