Tata Power has inked a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Government of Maharashtra for the development of two large pumped storage projects with a combined capacity of 2800MW within the Indian state.

The projects, set to be situated in Shirawata, Pune (1800MW) and Bhivpuri, Raigad (1000MW) districts, will represent one of Tata Power's most significant pumped storage endeavors. With an estimated total investment of approximately Rs. 13000 Cr, these ventures are poised to play a pivotal role in Maharashtra's drive towards a $1 Trillion economy by 2028, concurrently fostering employment opportunities for over 6,000 individuals.

The signing ceremony of the MoU took place at Mantralya in Mumbai and witnessed the presence of dignitaries including the Hon’ble Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri Devendra Fadnavis; Ms. Abha Shukla – Principal Secretary, Energy Department; Dr. Praveer Sinha – CEO & MD of Tata Power; Mr. Vijay Namjoshi – Chief-Generation, Tata Power; Mr. Prabhakar Kale – Chief-Hydros, Tata Power, alongside other distinguished guests.

Commenting on the collaboration, Dr. Praveer Sinha, CEO & MD, Tata Power, emphasized its significance, stating: " The signing of this MoU is a major step forward in the Tata Power’s journey towards clean and green energy future. Pumped Hydro Storage is a reliable and efficient way to store energy, and these projects will support the renewable solar and wind projects to ensure reliable, 24/7 consistent power supply. This is a historic moment for both Maharashtra and Tata Power, and we are proud to be a part of this initiative."

The Western Ghats, with their natural topography and favourable geology, offer immense potential for pumped storage projects. Tata Power already operates three hydro power projects in the area, including the Khopoli Hydro Generating Station, Bhivpuri Hydro Generating Station, and Bhira Hydro Generating Station, which includes a 150MW pumped storage project. 

The MoU was signed in the presence of Hon’ble Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri Devendra Fadnavis (center), Ms. Abha Shukla – Principal Secretary, Energy Department, Government of Maharashtra(left) and Dr. Praveer Sinha – CEO & MD of Tata Power (right